Sitemap | Home | Previous page


To see the pound against
the ringgit insert GBP in the
from box and MYR
in the to box.

Pahang - Malaysia

Pahang is the largest state in Peninsular Malaysia and is situated in the eastern coastal region. The state's 35,964 sq. km encompasses a remarkable range of Malaysia's many different environments, from the majestic peaks and cool hill regions of the state's western region to the miles of soft sand beach along the South China Sea. Pahang's nearly one million people constitute a representative mix of Malaysia's three main ethnic communities - Malay, Chinese, and Indian. Pahang hosts the longest river in Peninsular Malysia, Sungai Pahang, 435 km and also the highest mountain, Gunung Tahan, 2,187m.


Evidence of habitation in Pahang dates back to the Mesolithic Era. Long famous for the deposits of tin and gold found along the upper reaches of the Tembeling River, Pahang had attracted the interest of outside powers long before the founding of Malacca in 1400. Under the control of the maritime empire of Srivijaya (centered around Palembang in southeast Sumatra), Pahang had expanded to cover the entire southern portion of the Malay peninsula in the eight and ninth centuries.

Pahang was under the rule of several regional powers. With the collapse of Srivijaya power around 1000, Pahang was claimed first by the Siamese and then, in the late fifteenth century, by Malacca. Pahang became a distinct political entity during the Malacca Sultanate, circa 1454; Raja Muhammad, the son of Sultan Mansur Syah, was made its sultan in 1470. After Malacca fell to the Portuguese in 1511, Pahang became a key part of the territorial struggles between Acheh, Johor, the Portuguese, and the Dutch. Repeated raids, invasions, and occupations devastated the state, until the decline of both Achenese and Portuguese power in the early 17th century allowed Johor (the successor state to Malacca) to reestablish its influence. In the late eighteenth century Pahang gradually gained autonomy, it then became a fief of the Bendaharas of Johor-Riau by the beginning of the 19th century.

A civil war in the middle of the 19th century resulted in Bendahara Wan Ahmad proclaiming himself Sultan. However, British interest in Pahang's mineral resources and the British movement in the Malay Peninsula forced Sultan Ahmad to accept a British Resident in 1888.

In 1896, Pahang became one of the four Federated Malay States; this lasted until the Japanese invasion in 1941. It came under the British Military Administration (BMA) in 1945 upon the surrender of the Japanese; the Malayan Union comprising Pahang, nine other Malay states, Penang and Malacca was formed in the same year. In 1948, it became part of the Federation of Malaya which later achieved independence on 31 August 1957.



The Pahang flag comprises two equal horizontal stripes of black and white. The white, which is above the black, represents the Ruler and the black denotes the rakyat.


Black and yellow are the colours of the Pahang state emblem. Yellow is the royal colour and black denotes the rakyat. The head of the spear is a symbol of the Sultan's sovereignty.



Details to follow.





Area : 35,965 square km
State Capital : Kuantan
Royal Town : Pekan
Administrative Divisions : 11
Namely:- Bera, Bentong, Cameron Highlands,
Jerantut, Kuantan, Lipis, Maran, Pekan, Raub,
Rompin and Temerloh


: 1,231,176 (2000)

Breakdown of Races (1994)

Other Bumiputeras
© 2007 - My Far East - All Rights Reserved